The Advisory Board of the Directorate of Research, Innovation and Consultancy (DRIC) of the University of Cape Coast has been inaugurated at a ceremony at the University Council Chamber

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor D. D. Kuupole, on behalf of the University Council, has inaugurated the Advisory Board of the Directorate of Research, Innovation and Consultancy (DRIC) of the University of Cape Coast.

The nine member Board, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor is to provide guidance on how the directorate should run their activities and challenge faculties in terms of research that would positively impact on government policies and other social developmental projects.The Vice-Chancellor thanked members for accepting to be part of the board, especially those from outside the University and urged them to strive hard to use their rich experiences for the successful running of the directorate and the University as a whole.

Prof. Kuupole said, “We are in an era where no university can continue to live in isolation and a university that does not have relationship with industry and civil society is bound to fold up.” He further stated that in other countries, people were even agitating for entrepreneurial university to shift from the traditional ways of university operation.

The Vice-Chancellor who is also the Chair of the Advisory Board, expressed members’ gratitude for the opportunity to serve on the Board. He said the Board would work hard to lead the University to attain world class status, and was certain that all members would collectively bring on board their expertise to engage stakeholders and also generate knowledge for the betterment of the University.

Members of the Advisory Board are: Prof. A. M. Abane (Director, DRIC, UCC); Prof. Samuel K. Annim (Deputy Director, DRIC, UCC) and Rev. Dr. George Dawson-Ahmoah (Strategy & Corporate Affairs Director, GHACEM Limited, Heidelberg Cement Group, Tema), Dr. Frank A. Odoom (Ex-Director General, SSNIT); Dr. Sam Adu-Kumi (Acting Director, Environmental Protection Agency, Accra); Mr. Francis Obeng (Deputy Director of Finance, UCC); Mr. Paul Dzandu and Mrs. Millicent Aning-Agyei as Secretary.