Newly Appointed Officers Assume Office

A handing over ceremony has been held for newly appointed officers of the University whose tenure of office begins from August, 2017. Speaking at the function, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah, congratulated the newly-appointed officers on their appointment and called on them to work as a team with their colleagues and all category of staff to move their respective offices forward. He indicated that the positions they had occupied meant that they were taking leadership responsibilities and therefore, they must discharge their duties diligently to help move the University on a higher pedestal. Prof. Ghartey said some faculties, schools, departments would be restructured to streamline their activities. He implored the Colleges, Faculties/Schools to share resources with each other in their work. “Let’s help to build a University and not a single Unit,” Prof. Ampiah pointed out. Touching on Identity cards (ID) for staff, the Vice-Chancellor said the University had entered into agreement with Prudential Bank to produce ID cards with additional features for all category of staff. He said the cards would be distributed to members of staff very soon. Prof. Ampiah said the internet service on campus had been improved and currently undergoing trial test. He indicated staff and students would have to sign unto the internet with a username and password in order to connect their computers and other gadgets. On behalf of the newly-appointed officers, Prof. Johnson Nyarko Boampong assured that they would work with their colleagues to create a congenial academic environment in their respective offices. “We shall harness all resources to ensure that we contribute effectively and efficiently to improve the services of our respective offices in particular and the University in general,” he noted. Prof. Boampong said they would continue to consult their predecessors when necessary. The officers include College of Health & Allied Sciences (CoHAS) 1. Provost-Prof. Johnson Nyarko Boampong 2. Dept. of Biomedical Sciences-Dr. D. Omane-Acheampong 3. Dept. of Optometry-Dr. Emmanuel Kwesi Abu 4. Dept. of Chemical Pathology-Dr. Patrick Akakpo 5. Dept. Medical Imaging-Dr. Emmanuel K. M. Edzie 6. Dept. of Medical Biochemistry-Dr. Akwasi Anyanful College of Humanities and Legal Studies (CHLS) 7. Dept. of French-Dr. M. K. Kodah 8. Centre for African and International Studies-Dr. Alex J. Wilson 9. Information Literacy Unit-Mr. C. K. Filson 10. Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology-Dr. William Boateng 11. Dept. of Geography and Reg. Planning- Prof. Kwabena Barima-Antwi 12. Centre for Gender Advocacy & Documentation-Dr. (Mrs) Genevieve Adukpo College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences (CANS) 13. Dean, School of Biological Sciences-Prof. Justice K. Sarfo 14. Dept. of Crop Science-Dr. (Mrs.) Grace C. van der Puije 15. Dept. Computer Science & Info. Tech- Dr. Henry Amankwah College of Education Studies (CES) 16. Dept. Guidance & Counselling -Dr. Bukari Yusuf Dramanu 17. Dept. of Vocational Technical Education-Dr. Augustina Araba Amissah 18. Institute of Educational Planning & Administration-Dr. (Bro) Michael Amakyi 19. RCAMAT-Dr. Seth Amponsah Kwarteng Other Directorates/Centres/Units/Sections 20. Directorate of Academic Planning & Quality Assurance-Prof. J. V. Mensah 21. Library & Media Section, Centre for Teaching & Learning Support-Mr. Kwame Boohene