The retirees with some officials of UCC

Office of the Registrar Welfare Honours Seven Senior Citizens

The Office of the Registrar’s Welfare Association has organised a send-off party for seven (7) members who have retired from the University in 2019. 

Welcoming members to the occasion, the Director, Directorate of Human Resource, Rev. Isaac Baafi Sarbeng, stated that the association came into being last year and has so far served a good purpose and hoped that the programme would create the opportunity for the members to honour the Senior Colleagues. 


In a remark, the College Registrar, College of Humanities and Legal Studies (CHLS), Dr. Alexis V. Akanson, noted that the occasion was organised “to say thank you; show appreciation and bid farewell” to their Senior Colleagues. “Indeed, you need to be acknowledged and commended because you have contributed immensely to the development and achievements of UCC through your hard work, toil, dedication and commitment,” he added.

Urging the retirees to stay in harmony with everyone, the President, Ghana Association of University Administrators (GAUA), UCC Branch, Mr. Kwabena Antwi Konadu, said, “Do not harbour any bitterness in you but try and find out the best ways to relate with others. Let us be at peace with one another because we will also retire one day.” He promised the retirees that GAUA would forever accept them to be their own and that they should not hesitate to call on them for any assistance. 

Retirement is Part of Life

Speaking on the need to stay active, the Deputy Director of Finance, Mr. Francis Obeng, noted that retirement was part of life, however, they should t in order to keep them active and also spend quality time with their families. He appealed to the retirees to avoid unnecessary businesses; rather, they should put their money into the proper investment to realise good dividends. 
Each of the seven retirees was presented with a parcel from the association.

Retired Senior Administrators 

The seven retired members are the former Head, KG, Madam Adwoa Ewur, former Head of Security, ACP Mr. Johnson Owusu-Agyemang (Rtd), former College Registrar, CoDE, Mr. Opoku Oku-Afari, former Faculty Officer, Science and Technology Education, Mr. Prosper K. Nyatuame, former Assistant Registrar, School of Graduate Studies, Mr. Joseph C. Sefenu, former Transport Officer, Mr. James Paa Ghartey, and the former Head, Research Farm, Mr. Theodilus Yangtul.