School of Physical Sciences Award Deserving Students

The School of Physical Sciences, of the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, has organised the 2015/2016 Academic Year Dean's Awards Ceremony for students who have remarkably excelled in their academics.

The awards, instituted in 2015 with sixty-five awardees, was in recognition of students in levels 200, 300 and 400, who had attained Cumulative Grade Point Aggregate (CGPA) of 3.6 and above presented with certificates of honour at the colourful event, which was held at the Main Auditorium.

The awards, categorised into four sections, had 31 First Class students, 40 Best Students (each level); three Best Overall Female students (each level) and three Overall Best Students (each level). In the Overall Best Students category, Messrs Samuel Tei Kwao, a level 200 student reading BSc Actuarial Science, obtained a CGPA of 3.824, whilst Bernard Akai Akwei, a level 300 student reading Mathematics with Economics, had CGPA of 3.877, and Amoh Ebenezer, a level 400 student pursuing BSC Actuarial Science, had a CGPA of 3.927.

As regards to the Best Overall Female Students, Miss Abigail Owusuaa Owusu, a level 400 student reading B.Sc. Mathematics and Economics, had a CGPA of 3.716, while Miss Elizabeth Omotola Obisesan, a level 300 student pursuing B.Sc Computer Science, attained a CGPA of 3.541 and Miss Valerie Aboah Ofori, a level 200 student reading Actuarial Science, obtained a CGPA of 3.797.

In an address at the function, the Dean of the School of Physical Sciences, Prof. David Kofi Essuman, explained that the awards scheme was aimed at motivating the students to aspire for higher academic excellence. He said that Dr. N. K Haward, a senior member at the Mathematics and Statistics Department, had accepted to institute a cash award in his name for the best overall statistics student for the next five years. Prof. Essuman called on benevolent individuals and companies to sponsor the award ceremony, which is held between the third and sixth week of each semester for the previous Academic Year.

Prof. Essuman announced that the School had acquired and installed Laboratory Analytical Instruments valued at $300,000.00 to facilitate and promote both undergraduate and post graduate research. According to him, the School had purchased computer software for the Computer Laboratory and had also procured safety materials for workers at the Science Workshop to minimize work related accidents.

On his part, the Provost of the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences, Prof. L.K Sam- Amoah, who chaired the event, congratulated the award winners and expressed hope that their success would inspire other students to take their studies seriously in order to attain similar heights in future awards.