UTAG Inaugurates National and Local Committees

The University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG), has inaugurated various committees both at the local and national levels to perform specific tasks to propel the association onto a higher pedestal. At the local level, the inaugurated committees are “Experts Forum Committee”, “Health Committee” and “Local Executive Committee”. The national include “Conditions of Service Review Committee” and “National Research and Innovation Fair Committee”. The reports of the National Committees will be presented to the National Executive Committee (NEC) of UTAG for ratification. Speaking at the inauguration ceremony for each of the committees, the National President of UTAG, Dr. Eric Opoku Mensah, charged the chair and members of each of the committees to work towards achieving the mandates assigned them and also contribute their knowledge and rich experience to help protect and project the enviable reputation of UTAG both locally and nationally.  “I am of the firm conviction that you will never disappoint us, considering the high confidence we have in you to help us achieve our goals” he noted.  Dr. Mensah indicated that with the additional responsibilities as leaders of UTAG National, they were determined to transform the association as the hub of knowledge for development in the nation and beyond. He therefore, assured the committees that they would be provided the necessary support to enable them work effectively and efficiently. The membership of the inaugurated committees comprises; Experts Forum Committee Prof. Samuel K. Annim( Dept of Economics)                                         Chairman Dr. (Mrs) Eunice Fay Amissah (Dept of Tourism) Dr. Emmanuel Amo Ofori (Dept of Gh. Lang & Linguistics Dr. Samuel Kyei (Dept of Optometry) Dr. Kojo Okyere (Dept of Religion & Human Values) Dr. Samuel Bert Boadi-Kusi (Dept of Optometry) Dr. Yvonne Adjakoe (Dept of Geog. & Regional Planning) Health Committee Dr. Leonard Derkyi-Kwarteng (Sch of Medical Sciences) – Chairman Mr. Kwame Owusu Agyemang (Faculty of Law) Dr. Isshaq Zangina (School of Business) Dr. Evelyn Anane Sarpong (Dept of Community Medicine) Mr. Samuel Assabil (Dept of Actuarial Science) Mr. Joseph Kizzie-Hayford (Univ. Health Services)   Local Executive Committee Dr. Bernard Acquah (Dept of Arts & Soc. Sci. Education) Dr. Christopher Yarkwa (Dept of ICT Education) Dr. Emmanuel Amo Ofori (Dept of Gh. Lan & Linguistics) Dr. Yvonne Adjakloe (Dept of Geog. & Reg Planning) Miss Monica Koranteng (College of Distance Education) Dr. Leonard Derkyi-Kwarteng (School of Medical Sciences) Dr. Samuel Kyei (Dept of Optometry) Mr. Kwakucher Ackah (School of Agriculture) Dr. Alex Yaw Adom (Dept of Management Studies)   Conditions of Service Review Committee Rev. Emmanuel Abole (Dept. of Crop Science)                      Chairman Prof. Edward Marfo Yiadom (Dean, School of Business) Prof. Peter Grant (Dept. of Classics & Philosophy) Dr. Georgina Yaa Oduro (Dept of Soc. & Anthropology) Dr. Ferdinand Ahiakpor (Dept. of Economics) Mr. Kujo E. McDave (Dean, Faculty of Law) Dr. Emmanuel Abu (Dept of Optometry) National Research and Innovation Fair Committee Prof. Ato Armah (Dep. Director, DRIC)                                        Chairman Dr. Ernest Teye (Dept of Agric Engineering) Dr. Hussein Inusah ( Dept of Classics & Philosophy) Mr. Daniel  Amoako Sakyi (School of Medical Sciences) Dr. Abigail Opoku Mensah (Dept of Management) Dr. Akwasi Anyanful(Dept of Biochemistry) Dr. Alex Yaw Adom (Dept. of Management)