Dr. Eric Debrah Otchere

Dr. Eric Debrah Otchere

Dr. Eric Debrah Otchere named as a CASBS Fellow 

The Head of the Department of Music and Dance, Dr. Eric Debrah Otchere, has been selected to join the prestigious Center for Advanced Studies in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) Class of 2020-21 Fellows. (https://casbs.stanford.edu/news/casbs-announces-2020-21-fellows)  

Dr. Debrah is one of the only two Africans selected as a fellow of CASBS and also the only one in the field of Music.  Dr. Otchere’s selection was based on the merits of his proposed work on “Pacing within sonic spaces: a psychology of music and work” (https://casbs.stanford.edu/people/eric-debrah-otchere ) and his previous track record. These include being a fellow of as the African Humanities Program (AHP), American Council of Learned Societies (2015, https://www.acls.org/research/fellow.aspx?cid=1ED52548-9337-E511-941D-000C29879DD6); Post-Doctoral Fellow at Rhodes University (2016), a Presidential Fellow of the African Studies Association (USA, 2016, https://africanstudies.org/asa-news/winter-2017/an-interview-with-2016-asa-acls-presidential-fellow-eric-debrah-otchere/); and most importantly, an Iso Lomso Fellow (https://stias.ac.za/fellows/eric-otchere/ ) of the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Studies (STIAS).  Dr. Otchere’s appointment as a CASBS Fellow is between September 1, 2020, and May 28, 2021.


Established in 1954 at Stanford University, CASBS is a leading incubator of human-centered knowledge that facilitates collaborations across academia, policy, industry, civil society, and government to collectively design a better future.  Through its Fellowship program, the Center brings together deep thinkers annually to advance understanding of the full range of human beliefs, behaviors, interactions, and institutions.  CASBS alumni include 27 Nobel Laureates,
24 Pulitzer Prize winners, 51 MacArthur Fellows, 26 National Medal of Science winners, 
604 Guggenheim Fellowship winners, 159 National Academy of Sciences members, and hundreds more who are members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Political & Social Science.