The award winners with the dignitaries

School of Graduate Studies Presents Research Grants to 40 Postgraduate Students

School of Graduate Studies Presents Research Grants to 40 Postgraduate Students

The School of Graduate Studies in collaboration with Samuel and Emelia Brew-Butler GRASAG UCC Research Grant has presented grants to 40 qualified postgraduate students.

Samuel and Emelia Brew-Butler GRASAG UCC Research fund was established to provide financial assistance (grant) to postgraduate students to help them produce quality graduate research and early completion of their work.

UCC’s Commitment to Excellence in Quality Postgraduate Education

The Pro Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dora F. Edu-Buandoh congratulated the 40 students on their selection out of 71 applicants. She explained that the presentation of the award was to emphasise the University’s commitment to excellence with the view of ensuring high delivery of postgraduate education.

Prof. Edu-Buandoh noted that the School of Graduate Studies was determined to provide an enabling academic and social environment for postgraduate students and also ensure stable completion rate. “The overriding goal of this grant is to motivate students to contribute their quota to national development through quality and timely research,” she stressed. She added that the fund was aimed at supporting students to conduct their research and to finish on time and to also publish articles in recognised local and international journals. She admonished qualified awardees to make good use of the GHC 4,000 given to achieve the purpose of the grant.

The Pro Vice-Chancellor commended the leadership and members of the committee the Grants and Awards Committee secretariat, GRASAG UCC and the School of Graduate Studies for coming out with a laudable strategy. She said the grants would not only reposition GRASAG and the University, but also make postgraduate research work more comfortable for students. “Don’t only look into this scheme, cast your net wide to other grants that support thesis writing” she advised students.                 

On behalf of the award winners, Ms. Dora Attiogbe, thanked the Management and committee of Grant and Award the honour done them.