Truth Should Always Be Your Guide-Registrar Charges New SRC/LNUGS Executives

The Registrar, Mr. John Kofi Nyan has charged the new Student Representative Council (SRC) and Local Chapter of the National Union of Ghana Students (LNUGS) executives of the University of Cape Coast to be guided by the truth as leaders of the student body.

He noted that the entire student body has reposed in them a lot of confidence as their leaders and therefore they expect the SRC/LNUGS executives to live up to expectation.

Mr. Nyan gave this charge during the handing over and swearing in ceremony for the 2016/2017 executives of the SRC/LNUGS. He noted that the position they were occupying served as a good platform to develop their leadership skills and stressed that “the office you are holding demands a lot of responsibility and you need to show visionary leadership by working towards the goals and aspirations of UCC.”

The Registrar congratulated the new executives on their victory in the recent SRC/LNUGS elections on campus and entreated them to partner management in the development of the university.  He commended the immediate past executives for their hardwork and commitment to duty. They have been development oriented, action oriented and result oriented, he stressed.

The Dean of Students, Prof. Koawo Edjah who chaired the function reiterated the high sense of dedication of the outgone executives and particularly commended them for initiating the Students’ Welfare Assistance Fund to support needy students.  “It is my prayer that this initiative will bear fruit for every needy student to benefit from it,” he added. He noted that the 2015/2016 executives have left a lasting legacy and challenged the current leadership to build on it.

Prof. Edjah advised them to work in unison to help build UCC as a university with a worldwide acclaim. He called on the entire student body to rally behind the executives to execute their mandate successfully.  

Delivering his handing-over address, the immediate past SRC President, Mr. Francis Arthur said under his leadership,  a lot of interventions were made to address some of the challenges affecting students on campus. He mentioned improved communication flow through the use of SRC mobile application, strong presence in social media sites like Facebook, twitter and Instagram as well as creating official Gmail account. He also reported that the SRC was able to lobby management to establish Private Hostel Board to regulate the operation of private hostels to ensure the security of students in the diaspora and also charge reasonable rent charges.

On Health and Sanitation, Mr. Arthur announced that the student clinic at the North Campus has been equipped to offer good service to students especially those in the diaspora. He also said the SRC has contracted the Science Workshop to construct 350 dustbins to be placed at vantage points on campus. Other projects he said the SRC has done include the construction of a 120 sitting shuttle station at the North and South campuses, installation of street lights at the SRC, PSI and Medical Students’ Hostel road.

Mr. Arthur thanked the students for giving him the opportunity to serve them as acting and substantive SRC President for 23 months. He appealed to the new executives to continue with the numerous projects and the initiatives his administration started.

In his acceptance speech, the current President of SRC, Mr. Dennis Ampofo, thanked on the entire student body for voting massively for him in the recent elections. He called on the other candidates who contested in the elections to join hands to move the agenda of students in the university forward.  “The era of Team Dennis, Team Democrat, Team Sosi and Team Steward is over and the only team students have now is Team UCC,” he stated.


The Registrar later administered the oath of office on the executives. The 2016/2017 SRC executives are Mr. Dennis Appiah Larbi-Ampofo, President; Miss Priscilla Asuming, Vice-President; Dorinda Bruce Acquah, Secretary; Dennis Nana Asare, Treasurer; Godwin Asamoah Mensah,Sports Secretary; Elvera Mawufemor Wagba,Coordinating Secretary and Felix Amihere, SRC Public Relations Officer.

The LNUGS executives are Awortwe Sagoe, President; Welhemina Bofla, Secretary and Josephine Aidoo, Women Commissioner.