Two DUHS Staff Members Receive Medical Excellence Awards

Two members of staff of the Directorate of University Health Services ( DUHS)  have been awarded at the 2nd National Medical Excellence Awards for their outstanding achievements in the field of healthcare delivery.

The award ceremony, held at the Banquet Hall of the State House, Accra, was aimed at boosting the confidence and morale of professionals in the health sector.

The Medical Excellence Awards (MEA) for Healthcare Delivery Personnel was established in 2011 with the objective of honouring health care delivery works both in public and private sector.

The two awardees - Mrs. Gloria Baaba Aubyn, Principal Laboratory Technician of DUHS, and Dr.  Patrick Akwasi Baah, a Dental Surgeon and the Deputy Director of DUHS - were presented with citations.

The citation presented to Mrs. Aubyn reads "Health care provision is based on your findings. You play a pivotal role in the provision of the health care through your lenses. Your critical attention to detail and caution in administering your duties aids in the delivery of quality health care.”

That of Dr. Baah reads "As a doctor of oral health and dental care, your competences and skills contribute to the overall health of your patients. Your devotion and selfless love contribution to your profession gives a smile to patients.”

In his congratulatory remarks, the Director of DUHS, Dr. Evans Ekanem, commended the awardees for their exemplary achievements in their various endeavours and also sacrificing to serve humanity.

“Thank you for the honour done the University and also for impacting on humanity. You should be encouraged by the recognition given you to provide better health services  to your clients”, he noted,while hosting the awardees at his office.

Dr. Ekanem urged them not to rest on their oars, but to work assiduously to project the image of DUHS, in particular, and the University of Cape Coast, in general.

He called on the younger health professionals to emulate the shining example of the awardees in order to reach similar heights.

In all, 24 health sector personnel were awarded in eight categories nationwide.

Present during the ceremony were Mr. Atta Yeboah-Sarpong, the Health Services Administrator at the DUHS; Mr.Victorious  Yamoah Hagan, the Accountant at the DUHS, and Mr. Thomas Tamag, the Nurse Manager at the DUHS.