Awardees with the dignitaries

UCC Honours 17 Deserving Staff

The University has honoured 17 members of staff who distinguished themselves in their duties in 2019 at the 4th Staff Awards Ceremony.
The awardees were made up of three Senior Members, seven Senior Staff and seven Junior Staff.
Each awardee was presented with a certificate, shield and a cash prize each.  The awards ceremony recognised deserving staff in the areas of administration, finance/audit, library, teaching, technical, and health as well as community involvement.

In his remarks, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah, commended the awardees for their selfless dedication, outstanding performance and contribution towards the development of the University. “Management acknowledges the high level of sacrifice, selflessness, dedication and great sense of responsibility exhibited by staff towards the development of the University in various areas of its operation,” he noted.

Prof. Ampiah however, entreated those who did not receive award not to lose hope and continue to give off their best. “Do not lose hope and continue to brighten the corner where you are because your time will definitely come,” he added.

The Vice-Chancellor was happy to note that there was an increase in the number of awards from 17 out 76 nominations compared to 10 out of 35 for 2018. He urged the committee to intensify sensitisation efforts in order to have more nominations to bring about the best for the awards. 

On the awards, the Vice-Chancellor said he has approved for inclusion new categories which include Distinguished Professor and Distinguished Senior Member (Teaching/Academic) to cover teaching and work output of the teaching staff.  In addition he stated that “Promising Administrator and Distinguished Administrator f and Distinguished Senior Member (Non-Teaching),”he explained.

The Vice-Chancellor, implored Heads of Department to nominate deserving staff for the awards in subsequent call for nominations. Prof. Ampiah urged staff to ponder over their attitude towards work adding that “It is our collective responsibility to contribute positively towards the growth of this noble institution”.

Explaining the purpose of the criteria for the selection, the Director of Human Resource, Rev. Isaac Baafi Sarbeng, noted that the awards committee thoroughly probed the nominations that were received and the best 17 were selected.  He indicated that the ceremony has been held since 2015 following approval by the Governing Council in February, 2015, “The objective of the policy is to recognise high-level performance in the University and to motivate staff for the achievement of the strategic goals and objectives of the University” he stated.

Rev. Sarbeng assured that the Directorate would continue to widely publicise and educate staff on the awards categories and nomination processes in subsequent awards. He hoped that the ceremony would serve as an inspiration to all staff of the University to work diligently, with the hope that they would also be appreciated for their hard work.

The award winners are as follow
Mrs. Juliana Audria Dankwa        -        Community Service 
Dr. James Kojo Prah            -        Best Health worker 
Mr. Felix Adu-Poku            -        Promising Administrator

 Mrs. Veronica Mensah        -        Distinguished Administrator 
Ms. Georgina Ekua Denkyi  -        Promising Administrator  
Ms. Linda Otoo                     -        Distinguished Technician  
Mr. Jacob Arthur                   -        Distinguished Library 
Mr. Daniel Sackey Minnah    -        Distinguished Hall Assistant; 
Mr. Sampson Kofi Asare       -        Distinguished Finance/Audit 
Mrs. Doris Darko                   -        Distinguished Teacher.


Mr. Kofi Annan            -        Distinguished Driver;
 Mr. Andrew Arthur      -        Distinguished Conservancy Labourer; 
Mr. Alfred Kum            -        Distinguished Sanitary Labourer; 
Mr. Samuel Bakum     -        Best Health Worker; 
Mr. Francis Christian   -        Distinguished Technician; 
Ms. Lydia Acquah        -        Promising Clerk 
Mr. Samuel Kwesi Mensah        -        Distinguished Clerk.